Chronological Index

December 2016:
Doing Her Bit: A Story About the Women's Land Army of America by Erin Hagar
Women Heroes of World War II - The Pacific Theater by Kathryn J. Atwood
May We All Find Some Joy and Peace This Year
The Year of Borrowed Men by Michelle Barker
The School the Aztec Eagles Built by Dorinda Makanaōnalani Nicholson
Beautiful Blue World by Suzanne LaFleur
Your Hit Parade #7: Someday at Christmas

November 2016:
Making Bombs for Hitler by Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch
Happy Thanksgiving 2016
Weekend Cooking #29: Victory through M&M's - Happy 75th Anniversary
The Navajo Code Talkers by J. Patrick Lewis
Veterans Day 2016
Some Favorite Books About Resistance - Nonfiction and Fiction
Projekt 1065 by Alan Gratz

October 2016:
The Holocaust: The Origins, Events and Remarkable Tales of Survival by Philip Steele
Sunday Funnies #23: Gasoline Alley Halloween
Irena's Children: A True Story of Courage by Tilar J. Mazzeo
Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd (A Flavia de Luce Mystery #8) by Alan Bradley
Aim by Joyce Moyer Hostetter
Dive! World War II Stories of Sailors and Submarines in the Pacific by Deborah Hopkinson

September 2016:
Bjorn's Gift by Sandy Brehl
Sachiko: A Nagasaki Bomb Survivor's Story by Caren Stelson
Liberty by Kirby Larson
The Bicycle Spy by Yona Zeldis McDonough
The Plot to Kill Hitler - Dietrich Bonhoeffer: Paster, Spy, Unlikely Hero by Patricia McCormick

August 2016:
Movie Matinee #8: Winter in Wartime
Hitler's Canary by Sandi Toksvig
Waiting on Wednesday
WWII and Turkish Delight
The Last Cherry Blossom by Kathleen Burkinshaw

July 2016:
Your Hit Parade #6: Thanks for Dropping In, Mr. Hess
These Dark Wings by John Owen Theobald
Brave Like My Brother by Marc Tyler Nobleman
The Boy at the Top of the Mountain by John Boyne
Irena Sendler and the Children of the Warsaw Ghetto by Susan Goldman Rubin
Skating with the Statue of Liberty by Susan Lynn Meyer
Remembering Elie Wiesel

June 2016:
The Blitz Next Door by Cathy Forde
Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk
Waiting on Wednesday: The Plot to Kill Hitler by Patricia McCormick
We Will Not Be Silent by Russell Freedman
The Wall by Eve Bunting

May 2016:
Let's Celebrate Memorial Day by Barbara deRobertis
Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
The Anne Frank Case: Simon Wiesenthal's Search for the Truth by Susan Goldman Rubin
Waiting on Wednesday: The Enemy Above by Michael P. Spradlin and Brave like My Brother by Marc Tyler Nobleman
Girl in the Blue Coat by Monika Hesse
You Can Fly: The Tuskegee Airmen by Carole Boston Weatherford

April 2016:
Journey to Munich (a Maisie Dobbs Mystery #12) by Jacqueline Winspear
The Secret Seder by Doreen Rappaport
Weekend Cooking #28: When a war ends...or how I discovered the best peach cobbler ever
Waiting on Wednesday: The Boy at the Top of the Mountain by John Boyne
The Seagoing Cowboy by Peggy Reiff Miller
Trapped Behind Enemy Lines: The Story of the U.S. Army Air Force Medical Evacuation Squadron by Eric Braun

March 2016:
Waiting on Wednesday: Skating with the Statue of Liberty by Susan Lynn Meyer
The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle by Janet Fox
Happy Easter
A Tiny Piece of Sky by Shawn K. Stout
The Tortoise and the Soldier: A Story of Courage and Friendship by Michael Foreman
Franklin D. Roosevelt's Presidency by Linda Crotta Brennan

February 2016:
Lizzie and the Lost Baby by Cheryl Blackford
American Ace by Marilyn Nelson
Paper Wishes by Lois Sepahban
Mrs. Roosevelt's Confidante (a Maggie Hope Mystery #4) by Susan Elia MacNeal
Stones on a Grave by Kathy Kacer

January 2016:
Anne Frank in the Secret Annex: Who Was Who? by The Anne Frank House
War in My Town by E. Graziani
Top Ten Tuesday #18: Top Ten Books I've recently added to my TBR
Quiet Hero: The Ira Hayes Story by S.D. Nelson
The Liberators (World War II Book 4) by Chris Lynch
2016 - Happy New Year 

December 2015:
Adam & Thomas by Aharon Appelfeld
I am Half-Sick of Shadows (a Flavia de Luce Mystery #4) by Alan Bradley
Home and Away: A World War II Christmas Story by Dean Hughes
Top Ten Tuesday #18: Top Ten Books I Read in 2015
Reading Challenges
Oskar and the Eight Blessings by Richard Simon and Tanya Simon
Playing with Matches by Lee Stauss

November 2015:
Happy Thanksgiving!
Sunday Funnies: Superheroes in Gotham
Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear by Lindsay Mattick
Veterans' Day 2015
Soon (Book #5 in the Felix and Zelda family of books) by Morris Gleitzman
Listen to the Moon by Michael Morpurgo

October 2015:
Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke by Anne Blankman
What's in a name?
Paper Hearts by Meg Wiviott
The Emperor of Any Place by Tim Wynne-Jones

September 2015:
Whistling in the Dark by Shirley Hughes
A Prince Without a Kingdom by Timothée de Fombelle
Tucky Jo and Little Heart by Patricia Polacco
The Tiger Who Would Be King by James Thurber, Joohee Yoon
Courage & Defiance: Stories of Spies, Saboteurs, and Survivors by Deborah Hopkinson
Alive and Kicking (World War II Book 3) by Chris Lynch

August 2015:
Pennies in a Jar by Dori Chaconas
My Brother's Secret by Dan Smith
The Safest Lie by Angela Cerrito
Times Square on V-J Day: Then and Now
Jars of Hope: How One Woman Helped Save 2,500 Children During the Holocaust by Jennifer Roy
I'm back with a new look and a new name.
The time has come…

July 2015:
Five Children on the Western Front by Kate Saunders
Top Ten Tuesday #17: Top Ten Books the Celebrate Diversity
The Battle of the Bulge by Rick Atkinson
Mischief and Malice by Berthe Amoss
Movie Matinee #7: Yankee Doodle Dandy

June 2015:
Nim and the War Effort by Milly Lee
The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer
The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom
Weekend Cooking #27: Remembering Marguerite Patten
Paggage to Freedom: The Sugihara Story by Ken Mochizuki
National Donut Day
Tropical Secrets: Holocaust Refugees in Cuba by Margarita Engle

May 2015:
What I did at Book Expo America (BEA) 2015
Memorial Day 2015
Top Ten Tuesday #17: Top Ten Favorite Things to do in NYC when you come for BEA or just to visit
Dead in the Water (World War II Book II) by Chris Lynch
Sunday Funnies #21: The Boy Saboteurs
The Boys Who Challenged Hitler: Knud Pedersen and the Churchill Club by Philip Hoose
Remembering Günter Grass 
Escape in Time by Ronit Lowenstein-Malz

April 2015:
Red Berries, White Clouds, Blue Sky by Sandra Dallas
From the Archives #28: Lucy of the Sea Rangers by F.O.H. Nash
The Wren and the Sparrow by J. Patrick Lewis
Echo, a novel by Pam Muñoz Ryan
Top Secret Files of History: Spies, Secret Missions & Hidden Facts from World War I by Stephanie Bearce
Winnie: The True Story of the Bear Who Inspired Winnie-the-Pooh by Sally M. Walker

March 2015:
Women Heroes of World War I: 16 Remarkable Resisters, Soldiers, Spies and Medics by Kathryn J. Atwood
John Green's Crash Course: World War II
Mister Doctor: Janusz Korczak & the Orphans of the Warsaw Ghetto by Irène Cohen-Janca
Half a Man by Michael Morpurgo
Code Talker: A Novel About the Navajo Marines in World War Two by Joseph Bruchac
Remembering Terry Pratchett
Women of Valor: Polish Resisters to the Third Reich by Joanne D. Gilbert
Unlikely Warrior: A Jewish Soldier in Hitler's Army by Georg Rauch
Remembering Mal Peet
Swing Sisters: The Story of the International Sweethearts of Rhythm by Karen Deans

February 2015:
Harlem Hellfighters by J. Patrick Lewis and Gary Kelly
As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust, a Flavia de Luce Mystery by Alan Bradley
The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Two Books About Peace
Sunday Funnies #20: Gasoline Alley - 1921 to 1942

January 2015:
Danger in the Darkest Hour (Magic Tree House Super Edition #1) by Mary Pope Osborne
The Secret of Midway (Ghosts of War #1) by Steve Watkins
Winter 2015 Mini Bloggiesta Wrap-Up
Winter 2015 Mini Bloggiesta
Billys Blitz by Barbara Mitchelhill
Liesl's Ocean Rescue by Barbara Krasner
Vietnam Book Five: Walking Wounded by Chris Lynch
Happy New Year 2015

December 2014:
John Bloom and the Victory Garden by Leigh Shearin
Merry Christmas 2014
The Shepherd by Frederick Forsyth
Your Hit Parade #5: Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
Top Ten Tuesday #16: Top Ten Book I Read in 2014
Hunt for the Bamboo Rat by Graham Salisbury
Bear on the Homefront by Stephanie Innes and Harry Endrulat
Your Hit Parade #4: Don't Sit Under the Apple Tree (With Anyone Else but Me)

November 2014:
Hitler in Paris: How a Photograph Shocked a World at War by Don Nardo
Sunday Funnies #19: Thanksgiving Day Edition
The Tattered Prayer Book by Ellen Bari
The Boy Who Dared by Susan Campbell Bartoletti
Gifts from the Enemy by Trudy Ludwig
Veterans Day 2014
Movie Matinee #6: The Book Thief
Two Dog Heroes of WW I

October 2014:
Halloween, Donuts and Soul Cakes
A Less Than Perfect Peace by Jacqueline Levering Sullivan
Ashes by Kathryn Lasky
Top Secret Files of History: Spies, Secret Missions & Hidden Facts from World War II by Stephanie Bearce
Crow Call by Lois Lowry
Playing for the Commandant by Suzy Zail
New Indices
The Winged Watchman by Hilda van Stockum

September 2014:
The Magician of Auschwitz by Kathy Kacer
A Horse Named Hero by Sam Angus
The Only Thing to Fear by Caroline Tung Richmond
Enemy of the Reich - The Noor Inayat Khan Story
My Friend The Enemy by Dan Smith
Sunday Funnies #18: Little Lulu

August 2014:
The End of the Line by Sharon E. McKay
Dash by Kirby Larson
Where I am and why I can't go to the (sniff-choke-sob) KidLitCon 2014
The Christmas Truce by Aaron Shepard
The Light in the Cellar (A Molly Mystery) by Sarah Masters Buckey
The Winter Horses by Philip Kerr

July 2014:
Eyewitness World War I by Simon Adams
A Time to be Brave by Joan Betty Stuchner
Sunday Funnies #17: What the heck are Canadian Whites?
I Survived #4: I Survived the Bombing of Pearl Harbor, 1941 by Lauren Tarshis
The Comic Book War by Jacqueline Guest
My Top Blog Posts (are not what I would have expected)
First Dog Fala by Elizabeth Van Steenwyk
War Dogs: Churchill and Rufus by Kathryn Selbert

June 2014:
The Prime Minister's Secret Agent (A Maggie Hope Mystery #4) by Susan Elia MacNeal
Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman
Seeds of Rebellion: The First French and Indian War by Teresa Irvin
Best Friends Forever: A World War II Scrapbook by Beverly Patt
Movie Matinee #5: The Diary of Anne Frank (2009)
Gaijin: American Prisoner of War by Matt Faulkner
D-Day: The Invasion of Normandy, 1944 by Rick Atkinson
The Pilot and the Little Prince: The Life of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry by Peter Sis

May 2014:
2014 Book Bloggers Conference
Vango: Between Sky and Earth by Timothee de Fombelle
Sunday Funnies #16: Memorial Day 2014
Top Ten Tuesday #15: Top Ten Books About Friendship
Announcing the very first 2014 Kids Author Carnival
The One I Was by Eliza Graham
Under the Egg by Laura Marx Fitzgerald
Your Hit Parade #3: (There'll Be Bluebirds Over) The White Cliffs of Dover
The Whispering Town by Jennifer Elvgren
Sunday Funnies #15: Garden for Victory

April 2014:
Odin's Promise by Sandy Brehl (Review and Giveaway)
Hidden: A Child's Story of the Holocaust by Loïc Dauvillier
On the Wings of Heroes by Richard Peck
The Color of Light by Helen Mayles Shankman
It's National Bookmobile Day: Bookmobiles in WWII
Grandpa's Third Drawer: Unlocking Holocaust Memories by Judy Tal Kopelman
Top Ten Tuesday #14: Top Ten Most Unique Books I've Read
Hidden Like Anne Frank: Fourteen True Stories of Survival by Marcel Prins and Peter Henrik
     Steenhuis

March 2014:
Movie Matinee #4: Janie (1944)
Across a War-Tossed Sea by L.M. Elliott
Molly Takes Flight by Valerie Tripp
Stay Where You Are and Then Leave by John Boyne
The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches, a Flavia de Luce Mystery by Alan Bradley
The Children of the King by Sonya Hartnett
Victory through Killowatts: Daylight Saving Time (The Most Wonderful Day of the Year - for me, anyway)
The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny and the Fight for Civil Rights by Steve Sheinkin

February 2014:
The Great Escape by Megan Rix
Escape from Berlin by Irene N. Watts
No Surrender Soldier by Christine Kohler
2014 Black History Month
A Family Secret by Eric Heuvel
Speaking From Among the Bones, a Flavia de Luce Mystery by Alan Bradley
Susan Marcus Bends the Rules by Jane Cutler

January 2014:
I Survived #9: I Survived the Nazi Invasion, 1944 by Lauren Tarshis
The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion by Fannie Flagg
The Search by Eric Heuvel
The Right Fight (World War II Book 1) by Chris Lynch
Three Years and Eight Months by Icy Smith
Pure Grit: How American World War II Nurses Survived Battle and Prison Camp in the Pacific by Mary Cronk Farrell
Is there really such a thing as too many books? Or just not enough bookcases?
Dust of Eden by Mariko Nagai
In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson by Bette Bao Lord
2014 Reading Challenges
Sunday Funnies #14: Superman Happy New Year

December 2013:
2013 Reading Challenge Wrap-Up
Leaving China: An Artist Paints His World War II Childhood by James McMullan
Sunday Funnies #13: Batman and Robin: Alfred Claus
From the Archives #27: I go by Sea, I Go by Land by P.L. Travers
Your Hit Parade: I'll Be Home for Christmas
Izzy: The Christmas that Almost Wasn't by Budge Wilson
My Mother's Secret by J.L. Witterick
Your Hit Parade: Whtie Christmas
A Bag of Marbles by Joseph Joffo

November 2013:
A Medal for Leroy by Michael Morpurgo
Happy Thanksgiving
Top Ten #13: Top Ten Things I am Thankful For
Sunday Funnies #12: A Donald Duck Trio
The Boy on the Wooden Box by Leon Leyson
Year of the Jungle: Memories from the Home Front by Suzanne Collins
Johnny and the Bomb by Terry Pratchett, an encore presentation
Veterans Day 2013
Friends of Liberty by Bernice Gormley
The Midnight Zoo by Sonya Hartnett
From the Archives #26: N or M? by Agatha Christie

October 2013:
WWII: What to do when trick or treating is cancelled!
The War Within These Walls by Aline Sax
The Messenger Bird by Ruth Eastham
World War II Spies: An Interactive History by Michael Burgan
The Extra by Kathryn Lasky
Ronnie's War by Bernard Ashley
Listening for Lucca by Suzanne LaFleur
Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson
It's Cybils Nomination Time!

September 2013:
Invasion by Walter Dean Myers
Anne Frank's Chestnut Tree by Jane Kohuth
Soldier Bear by Bibi Dumon Tak
Warriors in the Crossfire by Nancy Bo Flood
The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World's Most Notorious Nazi by
     Neal Bascomb
Going Solo by Roald Dahl, an encore presentation
Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein
The Cats of Krasinski Square by Karen Hesse
Coming On Home Soon by Jacqueline Woodson

August 2013:
Duke by Kirby Larson
Imprisoned: The Betrayal of Japanese Americans during World War II by Martin W. Sandler
Movie Matinee Coming Attractions: The Book Thief
The Bear Makers by Andrea Cheng
Weekend Cooking #26: Victory through Sheila's Pickles
Willow Run by Patricia Reilly Giff
Something to do on a summer's day….in August 1943
Sadalo and the Thousand Paper Cranes by Eleanor  Coerr
Code Name Pauline: Memoirs of a World War II Special Agent by Pearl Witherington, edited by
     Kathryn Atwood

July 2013:
Romeo Blue by Phoebe Stone
Rising Sun, Falling Star by Vickie Hall
From the Archives #25: The Quest of the Missing Map by Carolyn Keene
Flight Officer Joan Worralson reporting for duty again…The Relaunch of Worrals of the WAAF by
     Captain W.E. Johns
Kid Soldier by Jennifer Maruno
Movie Matinee #3: Felicity, an American Girl 1775
Beholding Bee by Kimberly Newton Fusco

June 2013:
Top Ten Tuesday #12: Top Ten Books I've Read So Far in 2013
Sunday Funnies #11: Leapin' Lizards! June 1942 Little Orphan Annie Gets in the Scrap
Crystal City LIghts by Holly Moulder
An Elephant in the Garden by Michael Morpurgo
The Adventures of Superman: it's Man of Steel Day!
Hero on a Bicycle by Shirley Hughes
D-Day
Ausländer by Paul Dowswell
Thank You!
An Appeal
Recap: What I did at BEA 2013

May 2013:
Top Ten Tuesday #11: Top Ten Things I Want to Do at Book Expo America
Memorial Day 2013: America's White Table by Margot Theis Raven
From the Archives #24: Snow Treasure by Marie McSwigan
Barbed Wre Baseball by Marissa Moss
After by Morris Gleitzman
His Majesty's Hope (A Maggie Hope Mystery #3) by Susan Elia MacNeal
Sunday Funnies #10: Donald Duck and his Victory Garden
The Victory Garden by Lee Kockenderfer
Sorrowline: Book I of the Timesmith Chronicles by Neal Bushnell

April 2013:
It's Monday! What are you reading?
Odette's Secrets by Maryann MacDonald
World War II: a visual history of the world's darkest days by Sean Callery
Mister Orange by Truus Matti
Weekend Cooking #25: My Chocolate Year: a novel with 12 recipes by Charlotte Herman
From the Archives #23: Biggles Defies the Swastika by Captain W.J. Johns
Prisoner B-3087 by Alan Gratz
Books for Children of the World: The Story of Jella Lepman by Sydelle Pearl

March 2013:
Welcome to America, Champ by Catherine Stier
Lauren Yarnofsky Hates the Holocaust by Leanne Lieberman
Bloggiesta 2013: At the Finish Line
Ole! Bloggiesta is Here!
Alice at the Home Front by Mardiyah A. Tarantino
Good Night, Mr. Tom by Michelle Magorian
Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool
Finding Zasha by Randi Barrow
Yertle the Turtle by Dr. Seuss

February 2013:
The Great Skating Race by Louise Borden
Knit Your Bit: A World War I Story by Deborah Hopkinson
2013 Children's Book Week Poster and Bookmark with a Puzzle
Courage Has No Color: The True Story of the Triple Nickles by Tanya Lee Stone
WOW! An Award and...
Passing through Havanna: A Novel of a Wartime Girlhood in the Caribbean by Felicia Rosshandler
His Name was Raoul Wallenberg: an interview with Louise Borden
His Name was Raoul Wallenberg: Courage, Rescue and Mystery during World War II by Louise
     Borden
Double Victory: How African American Women Broke Race and Gender Barriers to Help Win World 
     War II by Cheryl Mullenbach
26 Failrmount Avenue: The War Years by Tomie dePaola
The 2013 Bank Street Children's Book Committee Awards

January 2013:
Greenhorn by Anna Olswanger
World War II Pilots: an Interactive History by Michael Burgan
Gingersnap by Patricia Reilly Giff
Tamar: a Novel of Espionage, Passion and Betrayal by Mal Peet
Sophia's War: A Tale of the Revolution by Avi
From the Archives #22: The Long Way Home by Margot Benary-Isbert
A Parachute in the Lime Tree by Annemarie Neary
Saving Zasha by Randi Barrow
Happy New Year

December 2012:
The House that Baba Built: An Artists Childhood in China by Ed Young
Reading Challenges
Boxing Day: A Good Day to Say Thank You
Sunday Funnies #9: Little Orphan Annie Christmas 1943
Weekend Cooking #24: Victory through the Ministry of Food: Christmas Pudding
So much tragedy, so much kindness
Victory through Plane Spotting
The Secret of the Village Fool by Rebecca Upjohn
Truce: the Day the Soldiers Stopped Shooting by Jim Murphy
Movie Matinee #2: Christmas in Connecticut
Molly's Surprise by Valerie Tripp
Home Front Girl by Joan Wehlen Morrison

November 2012:
Terrible Things: an Allegory of the Holocaust by Eve Bunting
Eyes of the Emperor by Graham Salisbury
Rose Blanche by Roberto Innocenti and Christopher Gallaz
Weekend Cooking #23: Victory through Cranberries
Spying on Miss Müller by Eve Bunting
Veterans Day 2012
The Secret Heores by Carla Mishek and Margo Sorenson
The Poppy Lady: Moina Belle Michael and her Tribute to Veterans by Barbara Elizabeth Walsh
Why I Vote

October 2012:
Halloween Special: Meet Molly by Valerie Tripp and Have A Molly Halloween
Jump into the Sky by Shelley Pearsall
The Klipfish Code by Mary Casanova
Princess Elizabeth's Spy by Susan Elia MacNeal
Weekend Cooking #22: Victory through the Ministry of Food
The FitzOsbornes at War by Michelle Cooper
KidLitCon 2012
Time of Fire by Robert Westall

September 2012:
Banned Book Week
Becoming Clemintine by Jennifer Niven
Back to Bataan by Jerome Charyn
T4 by Anne Clare LaZotte
Happy Chinese
Black Radishes by Susan Lynn Meyer
Today the universe is in balance...
Brooklyn Book Festival
Hitler's Angel by William Osborne
Announcing…

August 2012:
From the Archives #21: Rowan Farm by Margot Benary-Isbert
It's Monday! What are you reading?
Sad News: Nina Bawden Dies
Keep Calm and (fill in the blank)
It's the Dog Days of Summer and...
Violins in Autumn by Amy McAuley
A Shirtful of Frogs by Shalini Boland
Flygirl by Sherri L. Smith

July 2012:
The Good Liar by Gregory Maguire
Weekend Cooking #21: Victory through Doughnuts
From the Archives #20: Kitty Carter, Canteen Girl by Ruby Lorraine Radford
Sunday Funnies #8: Calling All Girls
Shadow on the Mountain by Margi Preus
Mr. Churchill's Secretary by Susan Elia MacNeal
The Other Half of Life by Kim Ablon Whitney
Top Ten Tuesday #10: Top Ten Favorite WWII Books I Have Blogged About and Why They are my 
     Favorites
Postcards from the War by Vanita Oelschlager
It's Monday! What are you reading?

June 2012:
Stones in the Water by Donna Jo Napoli
The Girl is Trouble by Kathryn Miller Haines
Blogoversary Giveaway Winner
Top Ten Tuesday #9: Summertime and the readin' is easy...
Number the Stars by Lois Lowry
It's A Party!
We Were Heroes: the Journal of Scott Pendleton Collins by Walter Dean Myers
BEA 2012
Weekend Cooking #20: What You Migh Like to Serve on the Occasion of Your Diamond Jubilee

May 2012:
Toys Go To War: World War II Military Toys, Games, Puzzles and Books by Jack Matthews
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
Memorial Day 2012
Victory by Carla Jablonski and Leland Purvis
Top Ten Tuesday #8: Top Ten Blog/Sites that Aren't About Books
Sunday Funnies #7: How Superman Would End the War
From the Archives #19: The Ark by Margot Benary-Isbert
Henderson's Boys: The Escape by Robert Muchamore
Waiting on Wednesday
Children's Book Week
Movie Matinee #1: Journey for Margaret
Now by Morris Gleitzman

April 2012:
Far from My Home, Never to Return: a Polish Child's WWII Memoir by Nadia Bogdaniec Seluga
Regrets…I've had a few
Blitzed by Robert Swindells
Weekend Cooking #19: Victory through Coleman's Mustard and The Three Mustardeers
Top Ten Tuesday #7: Top Ten Tips for New Bloggers
Molly Just for Fun
The Girls They Left Behind by Bernice Thurman Hunter
World War II: On the Home Front by Martin Gitlin
Weekend Cooking #18: 1940s Ads: Easter Ham and a Bunny Cake
The Devil's Arithmetic by Jane Yolen
The Endless Steppe: Growing Up in Siberia by Esther Hautzig
Bloggiesta Wrap-Up - A Day Late and A Dollar Short

March 2012:
Ole! Bloggiesta is Here!
Top Ten Tuesday #6: Top Ten Books I Would Play Hooky With
All the Children Were Sent Away by Sheila Garrigue
Greater than Angels by Carol Matas
OOPS!
Paradise Barn by Victor Watson
Weekend Cooking #17: Happy St. Patrick's Day
Defiance by Carla Jablonski and Leland Purvis
Sunday Funnies #6: Comics for Defense
The Girl is Murder by Kathryn Miller Haines
My Family for the War by Anne C. Voorhoeve
Bloggiesta 2012 - It's Coming Soon

February 2012:
From the Archives #18: Book Care Advice from the Girl's Own Annual
A Picture Book of Anne Frank by David A. Adler
Resistance Book 1 by Carla Jablonski and Leland Purvis
Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo
The Berlin Boxing Club by Robert Sharenow
Michael at the Invasion of France, 1943 by Laurie Calkhoven
In My Mailbox
The FitzOsbornes in Exile by Michelle Cooper
The Sydney Taylor Book Award Blog Tour: Interview with Ron Mazellan, illustrator
Weekend Cooking #16: Victory through Football - but who are the Steagles?

January 2012:
The Dog in the Wood by Monika Schröder
Blog Tour 2012: The Sydney Taylor Book Awards
Man Overboard! by Curtis Parkinson
Annexed by Sharon Draper
SOPA and PIPA - The Next Great Wall
From the Archives #17: The Chalet School Goes To It by Elinor M. Brent-Dyer
The Baker's Daughter by Sarah McCoy
Then by Morris Gleitzman
Night by Elie Wiesel
My Brother's Keeper by Monika Schröder

December 2011:
Starring Sally J. Freedman as Herself by Judy Blume
I Will Come Back For You: a family in hiding during World War II by Marisabina Russo
Happy Boxing Day! And a Word of Thanks
The Twelve Days of Christmas - an explanation
OMG! Another List! 2012 Reading Challenges
Top Ten #5: Top Ten Books I Hope Santa Brings
Weekend Cooking #15: Victory through Christmas Cookies
Caleb's War by David L. Dudley
In My Mailbox
Some Holiday Books
Remembering Pearl Harbor
Top Ten Tuesday #4: Favorite Childhood Books

Noverber 2011:
From the Archives #16: Dave Dawson at Dunkirk by Robert Sydney Bowen
This and That
When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit by Judith Kerr
Victory through Balloons - some Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade history
A Song for Summer by Eva Ibbotson
Eddie's War by Carol Fisher Saller
From the Archives #15: Emil and the Detectives by Erich Kästner
Velva Jean Learns to Fly by Jennifer Niven
Sunday Funnies #5: Veteran's Day/Remembrance Day
Carrie's War by Nina Bawden
From the Archives #14: The Oppermanns by Lion Feuchtwanger
So Far from the Bamboo Grove by Yoko Kawashima Watkins
Winter in Wartime by Jan Terlouw

October 2011:
Weekend Cooking #14: Victory through Snap, Crackle and Pop
Booking Through Thursday: What's the hardest/most challenging book you've ever read?
At the Firefly Gate by Linda Newbery
Irena's Jars of Secrets by Marcia Vaughan
Library Loot - OWS Library
Beales Corner by Andy Frazier
An Award - WOW!
Queen of Hearts by Martha Brooks
In My Mailbox
Time to Go Back by Mabel Esther Allan
Drawing from Memory by Allen Say
And now for something completely different...
Elephant Run by Roland Smith
Ghosts in the Fog: the Untold Story of Alaska's WWII Invasion by Samantha Seiple
The Last Word…and so it goes

September 2011:
A Separate Peace by John Knowles
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Banned Books
Women Heroes of World War II: 26 Stories of Espionage, Sabotage, Resistance and Rescue by
     Kathryn J. Atwood
BBAW Day 5: Blogging
The Gremlins: a Royal Air Force Story by Flight Lieutenant Roald Dahl
Update: Blue by Joyce Moyer Hostetter
Sky: a True Story of Courage during World War II by Hanneke Ippisch
Weekend Cooking #13: Victory through Canning

August 2011:
From the Archives #13: Pamela G.M. by Florence Gunby Hadath
Surviving the Angel of Death: the Story of a Mengele Twin in Auschwitz by Eva Mozes Kor and Lisa
     Rojany Bucceri
Lily Renée, Escape Artist: From Holocaust Survivor to Comic Book Pioneer by Trina Robbins
Book Blogger Appreciation Week
Congratulations
Harry Potter Read Along and Giveaway
When My Name Was Keoko by Linda Sue Park
I digress…Dog Days of Summer Giveaway

July 2011:
Sunday Funnies #4: Captain America: the First Avenger "The Movie Storybook" adapted by Elizabeth
     Rudnick
The Dolphin Crossing by Jill Paton Walsh
Weekend Cooking #12: Victory through Vegetable: Woolton Pie
From the Archives #12: Sparky Ames and Mary Mason of the Ferry Command by Roy J. Snell
The Silver Sword by Ian Serraillier
Sunday Funnies #3: Invisible Scarlet O'Neil by Russell Stamm
Milkweed by Jerry Spinelli
Rowan the Strange by Julie Hearn
Chinese Cinderella and the Secret Dragon Society by Adeline Yen Mah
Climbing the Stairs by Padma Venkatraman
Congratulations

June 2011:
The Romeo and Juliet Code by Phoebe Stone
An Award - WOW!
Giveaway: Miss Pererine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
The Cay by Theodore Taylor
Summer Reading
The Machine Gunners by Robert Westall
Primary Sources Teaching Kit World War II by Sean Price
Weekend Cooking #11: Peach Cobbler To Celebrate My 1st Blogoversary
Homefront by Doris Gwaltney
If I Should Die before I Wake by Han Nolan
Update: 49 Hour Book Challenge
Sunday Funnies #2: Charles M. Schulz pays homage to D-Day
Update: 48 Hour Book Challenge
Update: 48 Hour Book Challenge
48 Hour Book Challenge
Coming Attractions: The Apothecary by Maile Meloy
From the Archives #11: Sons of the Dragon by Phyllis Ayer Sowers

May 2011:
The Exeter Blitz by David Rees
It's been an interesting BEA/BCC
A Very Bookish Week
Sunday Funnies #1: Graduation 1943
Slaps Your Sides by M E Kerr
The Cat with the Yellow Star: coming of age in Terezin by Susan Goldman Rubin with Ela
     Weissberger
Weekend Cooking #10: Victory through Carrots
Booking Through Thursday: Age Appropriate
Ghostscape by Joe Layburn
Weekend Cooking #9: Welsh Cakes (or as we called them as kids Welsh Cookies) also being an homage to my Mom Gracie
The Shadow Children by Steven Schnur
75 Years of Children's Book Week Posters: celebrating great illustrators of American children's books,
     introduction and text by Leonard S. Marcus
Jacob the Liar by Jurek Becker
The Children We Remember by Chana Byers Abells

April 2011:
From the Archives #10: Strangers at the Farm School by Josephine Elder
The Dragonfly Pool by Eva Ibbotson
The Little Ships: the Heroic Rescue at Dunkirk in World War II by Louise Borden
Weekend Cooking #8: Ham Loaf
National Poetry Months meets Civil War Saturday - O Captain! My Captain! by Walt Whitman
Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys
Who was that Masked Man, Anyway? by Avi
Uncle Misha's Partisans by Yuri Suhl
The Amazing Story of Adolphus Tips by Michael Morpurgo
Run Rabbit Run by Barbara Mitchelhill

March 2011:
World War II Days: Discover the Past with Exciting Projects, Games, Activities, and Recipes by David C. King
Weekend Cooking #7: Turkish Delight a/k/a Locum
I digress…War Horse on Broadway
From the Archives #9: On the Edge of the Fjord by Alta Halverson Seymour
Rosie the Riveter by Christine Peterson
Back Home by Michelle Magorian
Essie: The True Story of a Teenage Fighter in the Bielski Partisans by Essie Shor and Andrea Zakin
Weekend Cooking #6: Home Front Heroes: Women and Rationing
The Staircase Cat by Colin Thompson
Strange but True Stories of World War II by George Sullivan
Weekend Cooking #5: We'll Eat Again: A Collection of Recipes from the War Years by Marguerite
     Patten - Dropped Scones
From the Archives #8: Incident in Yorkville by Emma Gelders Sterne

February 2011:
Traitor by Gudrun Pausewang
Weekend Cooking #4: A War-time Welsh Rabbit in honor of St. David's Day
Someone Named Eva by Joan M. Wolf
The Orphans of Normandy: a true story of World War II told through drawings by children by Nancy
     Amis
Weekend Cooking #3: Apple Dumplings in WW II
From the Archives #7: Listen Hitler! The Gremlins are Coming by Inez Hogan
Music for the End of Time by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Beth Park
Weekend Cooking #2: Strawberry Shortcake
Don't Day a Word by Barbara Gehrts
Black History Month - More Information on the Double V Campaign
Black History Month - The Double V Campaign: African Americans and World War II by Michael L.
     Cooper
Weekend Cooking #1 - Wartime Chop Suey
Civil War Saturday - Girl in Blue by Ann Rinaldi
From the Archives #6: Worrals of the W.A.A.F. by Captain W.E. Johns
Top Ten Tuesday #3: Top Ten Best Debut Books

January 2011:
International Holocaust Remembrance Day
How to Make a Side by Side Image
Bloggiesta - What I Did
Ole! Bloggiesta is Here!
A Brief History of Montmaray by Michelle Cooper
An Award - Wow!
Wind Flyers by Angela Johnson
Gentlehands by M. E. Kerr
Top Ten Tuesday #2 on Wednesday - Top Ten Blogish/Bookish Resolutions
Citizen 13660 by Miné Okubo
Top Ten Tuesday #1 on Saturday - a little late for the dance
From the Archives #5: Mystery at Witchend by Malcolm Saville
Remember D-Day: the Plan, the Invasion, Survivor Stories by Ronald J. Drez

December 2010:
We Can Do It! Geraldine Hoff Doyle
The Entertainer and the Dybbuk by Sid Fleischman
Book Blogger Holiday Swap
Some Holiday Books - Christmas
Busting the Newbie Blues
Don't You Know There's a War On? A Novel by Avi
Parallel Journeys by Eleanor Ayer with Helen Waterford and Alfons Heck
I digress again…and Revise Weekly Geeks - Reading Challenges
A Boy at War: a Novel of Pearl Harbor by Harry Mazer
Blue by Joyce Moyer Hostetter
Some Holiday Books - Chanukah

November 2010:
Welcome to Molly's World 1944: Growing Up in World War Two America by Catherine Gourley
I digress again…Weekly Geeks - Antique Books
Thanksgiving
In Defiance of Hitler: the Secret Mission of Varian Fry by Carla Killough McClafferty
Book Beginnings on Friday: Blue by Joyce Moyer 
Blackout and All Clear by Connie Willis
From the Archives #4: Cherry Ames, Veterans' Nurse by Helen Wells
I Am An American: a True Story of Japanese Internment by Jerry Stanley
From the Archives #3: The Chalet School in Exile by Elinor Brent-Dyer
One Thousand Treacings: Healing the Wounds of World War II by Lita Judge

October 2010:
War Boy: a Wartime Childhood by Michael Foreman
From the Archives #2: The Snow Goose by Paul Gallico
Don't Know Where, Don't Know When by Annette Laing
War, Women and the News: How Female Journalists Won the Battle to Cover World War II by
     Catherine Gourley
Happy Birthday, John
The Sweethearts of Rhythm. The Story of the Greatest All-Girl Swing Band in the World by Marilyn
     Nelson, illustrated by Jerry Pinkney
The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank

September 2010:
Summer of My German Soldier by Bette Green
Smithsonian Museum Free Admission Saturday
The Grand Mosque of Paris. A Story of How Muslims Rescued Jews during the Holocaust by Karen
     Gray Ruelle and Deborah Durland DeDaix
Going Solo by Roald Dahl
Keep Smiling Through by Ann Rinaldi
The Champion of Children: the story of Janusz Korczak by Tomek Bogacki
From the Archives #1: Cherry Ames, Army Nurse by Helen Wells

August 2010:
Once by Morris Gleitzman
I Digress...
V is for Victory: America Remembers World War II by Kathleen Krull
The Cigarette Sellers of Three Crosses Square by Joseph Zieman
Mare's War by Tanita S. Davis
Anne Frank: Her Life in Words and Pictures by Menno Metselaar and Ruud van der Rol

JULY 2010:
The Journey That Saved Curious George.  The True Wartime Escape of Margret and H.A. Rey by
     Louise Borden, illustrated by Allan Drummond
In Spite of All Terror by Hester Burton

JUNE 2010:
London Calling by Edward Bloor
Blitzcat by Robert Westall
Johnny and the Bomb by Terry Prachett

2 comments:

  1. Unless I missed it, you have not reviewed Constance Savery's highly praised Enemy Brothers (1943), which is still available in a Bethlehem Books reprint (2001). In Part Four of A Critical History of Children's Literature (1953), Ruth Hill Viguers used Savery's novel to introduce her discussion of World War II in Fiction. Of Savery's fifty-odd books, this is one of her three best!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No, you didn't miss it, I have't reviewed it yet. I've been thinking about doing an older book soon, so maybe I'll get a copy and read it. It is in my bibliography, but there are hundreds of books there, and I've read only a drop in the bucket so far. Thanks for reminding me about this one, though.

      Delete